Documenting Glory

Worship Through the Lens…One Shot at a Time

Inca Doves

18 Comments

Billy and I have always loved the doves in our yard. We’ve had many Mourning Doves ever since we moved into this house, and quite a few Eurasian Collared Doves in the last few years.  About a year ago, however, we realized that we had a new type of dove making periodic visits to our yard: Inca Doves.  We were a bit confused at first, as when we first looked them up, the information we found said that they didn’t live in our part of the country.  But they just keep coming back, and we’ve seen reports of them from others in our area as well (Steve Creek Inca Dove post).  They are beautiful birds…their feathers almost look like chain mail armor…and smaller than the Mourning Dove or Eurasian Collared Dove.  We love having them visit!

birds 002-001e birds 003-001e birds 007-001e

Linking up with Wild Bird Wednesday!

Wild Bird Wednesday

18 thoughts on “Inca Doves

  1. Oh, I’d love to see these! Great shots!

  2. Another Arkansas girl here – I’ll have to look for those doves to see if they are where I live. I’ve had some doves that I thought looked a little different, but now I’ll know to look more closely!

    • We thought these were juvenile mourning doves when we first saw them, but then they never grew up! 🙂 Where are you in AR? I’m in West Central AR, as is the other blogger I linked to. Let me know if you see some!

  3. Great photos of very pretty birds.

  4. beautiful photos of a wonderful bird

  5. Excellent photos! I’ve never seen Inca Doves, but would love to some day!

  6. Pretty doves, they would be a new bird for me. Lovely photos!

  7. Beautiful!! Boom & Gary of the Vermilomn River, Canada.

  8. How gorgeous! Love the shingled look of the feather arrangement. With the changing weather patterns, some birds are extending their range.

    • Thanks, Arija! They do look like shingles, don’t they? I just think they are fascinating. And it’s been neat to have a “new” bird to our area frequenting our yard. 🙂

Thanks for visiting Documenting Glory! I'd love to hear from you in the comments.

